top of page
Search
  • Landry B

Turning 20 (In Quarantine)

For those who know me well, you know I love my birthday. Maybe it’s a little selfish but my birthday has always been one of my favorite days of the year. Call me crazy, but birthdays are magical and there’s something special about celebrating the past year of your life and getting excited about the next. So as it became evident that I was going to be spending my 20th birthday in quarantine, I was pretty bummed. But thanks to my family and friends, it ended up being one of the best birthdays I’ve ever had! Here’s how the day went (along with some ideas on how to celebrate your own quarantine birthday):


When I woke up, my whole house was decorated with balloons and streamers. Immediately, it put me in a good mood and made me excited for the day. Take a look around your house for any party decorations or art supplies you have to spice up your living space. It doesn’t have to be much, but it’s a little way to instantly make the day feel special, especially when you’ve been stuck inside the same place for a while.


Next, I got ready for the day. I turned on my favorite playlist, put on some makeup and threw on a cute outfit. I know it’s small, but it felt SO good. This was my first time putting on makeup in almost a month and I never realized how much it can instantly lift your mood. Whether you wear makeup or not, I highly recommend taking some time to yourself and getting ready for your special day.

For lunch, my sister and mom surprised me with a homemade charcuterie. I’m obsessed with cheese boards so this was incredibly exciting. They filled it with all my favorites, including an untraditional Party Pizza (so cheap yet so good). My family ate it together and it was so fun just hanging out and spending time together. If you’re spending your birthday at home, make it special by eating your favorites. If it’s something you can’t order in, grab whoever you’re quarantining with and make it together. It’s a fun pastime and you get to spend time with the people you love.

By far the most special surprise of the day came later in the afternoon when my sister told me she had a card to give me. The card was super sweet but at the bottom was a clue. The clue led me on a scavenger hunt around the whole house where at each stop, I found a letter from one of my friends. Twelve letters later, I was crying before I even opened one. With that said, I was full-on sobbing by the time I finished reading all of them. As if I hadn’t cried enough, my family said there was one last clue. This led me to my front yard where a handful of my hometown friends were driving by to wish me a happy birthday. By this time, I was ugly crying, but with the happiest of tears. Quarantine has been tough on all of us and I know I’m not alone when I say that I miss my friends more than anything, so seeing that my best friends and family came together to do this was unbelievable and the best gift I’ve ever received. I couldn’t be more grateful to have such amazing people in my life.

The rest of the day was filled with dance parties, Facetimes from friends, surprise flowers from my boyfriend Hogan, my favorite dinner cooked by my mom, a surprise ice cream visit from one of my best friends, cupcakes and some Netflix. Find the little things you love and bring them to life on your birthday. It may be as small as listening to a song you really love or Facetiming someone you miss but added together, these little things bring your special day to the next level.

If you have to spend your birthday in the Q this year, don’t get discouraged. Grab whoever you’re quarantining with and find ways to celebrate all day long. Whether it’s big or small, there are so many ways to make your day extra special. It may not be your ideal situation, but part of the fun is finding the perfect in the imperfect. Saying goodbye to my teenage years has not only made me feel old for the first time in my life, but entering my twenties in quarantine will be something I never forget. So don’t be bummed if your birthday will be spent in quarantine this year, it may just end up being one of the best birthdays of your life.


86 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page